Typos and open

27 Jun

I have to do this post in the next fifteen minutes–it will be a miracle if I can do it.

1) I am so unhappy when I find typos in my writing, on or off line. These things happen now because of editing, not because I have misspelled a word–mostly the red-squiggly-line-editor feature alerts me to misspelled words. What I’m talking about is when I’ve changed the tense of a sentence but not quite remembered to add or delete -ed from a word. OR when I forget to make a verb plural after changing the subject from singular to plural. OR when I have edited a sentenced by moving around text and misplaced the words so that somehow it reads weird. AARRGGGGH. It just makes me cringe. And no matter how carefully I re-read or proof read, I don’t find all the errors because: a) I introduce new errors whenever I touch a text; b) I read what I want to be there, not what it really says; c) I hate copy editing my own work (I’m only interesting to myself the first time around). Here’s what I want: a person who will turn on my car AC before I leave the building; a person who will copy edit all my writing (and not make me feel silly about my dopey errors); a person who will agree with me that world peace could be achieved if all world leaders had regular pedicures together. Sipping wine in massage chairs while having one’s feet attended to–how could anyone contemplate war in such a situation?

2) HOLY MOLY. I’m fooling around with Creative Commons this afternoon and found this:

The Power of Open (at http://creativecommons.org)

You have to read this. I mean you really have to read this. It’s an assignment for July 6. I know I promised no more longish reading assignments, but this is filled with pictures, pull quotes, beautiful stories, and will connect a lot of the dots we’ve been throwing up on the canvas in our all-the-way-wide-open WAC fest.

Post done and with three minutes to spare. And right around 350 words. Miracle.

2 Responses to “Typos and open”

  1. Kuh-Leh June 28, 2011 at 10:37 am #

    Is it me or are there so many typo’s in the reading? Double letters, weird quotation placement, all sorts of stuff. Do these people not have spell check?

    • wacattack@aum June 28, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

      MAN, I was thinking the same thing. Occasionally words that are in different fonts, too–drove me mad. Proof positive that the world desperately needs more folks like us who are obsessed by the English language and its quirks, textual display and correctness. No such thing as perfection, but spell check and a once-over by an averagely talented copy editor–shoulda made that happen at least. But then, comb through anything and the uglies will be there. Just read a slick book by a major publisher with three typos. I know they have staff for that. 😉

Leave a comment